Inspiration

Gussy Sews Inspiration Workshop: Shoes

I’m so inspired by Jessica Haley’s journey from making shoes for her little girl to founding her baby shoe company Joyfolie (which is now expanding into women’s shoes!) Her story is what I love best about reading crafting blogs and browsing sites like Etsy; a mother taking the scary leap and following her dreams, garnishing success, and still coming (or staying) home to raise their little ones to eventually follow their own dreams.


Shoes by Joyfolie

I’ve always been amazed at the women who seem to do it all, and who know their true purpose in life. I’ve wanted to be, and learn, everything under the sun at different points in my life and always seemed to lack focus to get much of anything done. I start goals, only to be swayed by a new, much shinier goal a few months later.

It’s only recently, as a 30-year-old toddler’s mom, that I’ve come to terms with my personality and its limitations. I will never be the mom who has it all together, or the woman who follows one set path to reach my end goal. And while I have many smaller goals, constantly evolving, shifting, diminishing, growing, my true end goals are all generic and always have been. I just want to be happy. I want my family to be happy, I want my daughter to grow up feeling loved, taken care of, and supported. I want health, heart wealth, and a feeling of satisfaction.


Shoes by Joyfolie

In the end I’ll have to walk in my own shoes, and quit staring longingly at my neighbors. Their shoes might seem superior to my eyes, but they’re just better equipped for their own journey. In the meantime I can’t wait for the day when I can buy my daughter a pair of Joyfolie shoes. I might not follow the same path, but reading her story still inspires me to follow my own dreams. No matter how often they change.


Boots by Joyfolie

Gussy Sews Inspiration Workshop!

About Susie Contreras

My life is writing + motherhood. Lived + loved in Hawaii, Baja, & around California. Thrift shops + ice cream keep me sane. Perpetually in need of caffeine. I blog at susiecontreras.com

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Gussy Sews Inspiration Workshop: Shoes

  1. Hey Susie, isn’t Jessica just the best, I am also obsessed with her, I have also been making baby shoes for a while but just started selling them, and I believe that I have her to thank for helping me believe in my self, it’s like that quote “If they can do it, I can do it” so seeing her become so successful makes us all feel like ok we can too, it amazes me how somebody like her can affect so many people in a good way and not even know them…..
    I will be buying the yellow shoes for me next week as soon as they are available!!!! can’t wait….
    P.S. You have a fun way of writing
    Joni LeBaron http://www.lavalya.com

    Posted by Joni | May 11, 2012, 4:29 PM
  2. Hey Susie, I saw your link on gussysews and I am also super duper in obsessed with Jessica Haley, her shoes and her story are just amazing {I actually went to Colorado a few weeks to hear her talk at the makerie} it was so nice to meet her, I felt star struck..haha
    I have been making baby shoes for a few years now and then I came across her blog and it has been such a huge blessing just seeing her journey, it really makes me feel like this quote says “if they can do it so can I”….
    it took me a while but I finally got the confidence to start selling my shoes…. yes her adult shoes are fabulous, I am getting the yellow ones for myself next week as soon as they are available (can’t wait)

    P.S. You have a very fun way of writing

    Posted by Joni | May 11, 2012, 4:51 PM
    • Oh my gosh I just checked out your shoes and lady(!) those are some cute baby shoes! I may have to spring for a pair of the mustard yellow ballet flats for my daughter. 🙂

      Posted by Susie | May 11, 2012, 5:53 PM

Leave a Reply

Live. Laugh. Aloha.

~ Mom to a busy toddler
~ Sometimes writer
~ Wanna-be seamstress
~ Red velvet cake connoisseur

Things I write about…

