Inspiration, Sewing

I Love Me Some Color


{Yellow and mint wedding palette by Martha Stewart Living}

I didn’t complete last week’s sewing project, hell, I didn’t even start it. Right now I’m learning on my mom’s sewing machine at her house a couple of times a week. It’s a struggle some days to pack up my daughter and her gigantic bag, sewing supplies, plus all the bits and pieces I take with me everywhere and try to get a couple hours of sewing in while making sure she doesn’t get in to too much trouble at my parent’s house. I know I sound like I’m complaining, but I’m not trying to. I guess I’m just frustrated at myself for not starting my project, and I needed to vent it out a bit. I’m glad that’s over and now onto this week’s goal!


{Feathered color palette by Design Seeds}

This week I want to finish the clutch I was going to attempt last week. What I’m enjoying so far about this project is picking out the fabric and learning about choosing materials in terms of weight and color. I am a girl who loves color, but until recently I never thought much about how to choose coordinating or contrasting colors, and even patterns. I just knew what I liked together. Admittedly my personal style is colorful, boho, and slightly funky. Blogs have been a great source of color inspiration, and introduced me to combinations I might never have considered before.


{Colors by Circa Ceramics}

For instance, while purple and aqua are two colors I have no problem putting together (did I mention I like my colors bright and bold) I would never in a million years have worn red, white, and blue at once. I am patriotic, but walk around looking like a flag? No thanks. But through magazines, blogs, and other visual platforms I’ve seen the red, white, and blue combination made to look positively modern. And wouldn’t you know it my clutch this week is going to be red, white, and blue. I promise there’s nothing Fourth of July about it, and the key was choosing just the right variations of red and blue, and incorporating a simple pattern. I’m no color expert, but here are a few sites where I go to get color inspired!

  • Design Seeds:
    Ooh I love the combinations on this site. They take pictures and create inspiring pantone palettes from them.
  • Colour Lovers:
    A lot of inspiration curated from graphic designers.
  • Cliqcliq Colors:
    Similar to Design Seeds, this app let’s you take pictures and create your own palettes from the colors pulled out of your photos. It was recommended in my last issue of Martha Stewart Living. This app will no longer be updating as of August 15, but I think if you download it now you can still use it after they’ve shut down.
  • Martha Stewart:
    Speaking of Martha, what crafter hasn’t been inspired by the queen of all things crafty. Her magazine designers especially are always on point.
  • OhJoy:
    An all-around inspiring design blog. The author always showcases gorgeous and modern color inspirations.
  • Advertisements

    About Susie Contreras

    My life is writing + motherhood. Lived + loved in Hawaii, Baja, & around California. Thrift shops + ice cream keep me sane. Perpetually in need of caffeine. I blog at susiecontreras.com

    Discussion

    2 thoughts on “I Love Me Some Color

    1. Wow this is just what I have been needing, I design baby shoes and trying to pick out color combinations that are fun, bright and bold is always a challenge, I had no idea where to get ideas from so thank You so much for saving me hours and hours of not having to search for this, great info…. 😉

      Oh and it is so cool that you are blogging about your new sewing projects, I wish I had the confidence to do that, I’m working on it, I think it is nice when people don’t think they have to be perfect!!!

      Posted by Joni | May 11, 2012, 4:41 PM
      • Thanks so much Joni! I tend to be drawn to color, the brighter the better, but since I’m not always savvy on what the current trends are these sites really help. Plus it makes it easier seeing all the great color combos on a few sites as opposed to doing all that research like you said.

        As for the perfect thing… well I struggle with perfectionism and I’m constantly working on it. I’m the type of person that if it isn’t a masterpiece the first time around I immediately want to stop. Learning to sew and even blogging are helping a lot because I am so far from being perfect and I can make a huge mess of things pretty quickly. I’m learning to be okay with that and follow my own journey. 🙂

        Posted by Susie | May 11, 2012, 5:50 PM

    Leave a Reply

        Live. Laugh. Aloha.

    ~ Mom to a busy toddler
    ~ Sometimes writer
    ~ Wanna-be seamstress
    ~ Red velvet cake connoisseur

    Things I write about…

