Sewing

Upcycled Project: Tank to Drop Dress

upcycled project: drop dress

I love the idea of taking unused, old, and discarded items and turning them into something new, useful, and cute to boot. This dress started life as a thrifted toddler tank from Deseret Industries Thrift Store and a three month old baby dress we were (obviously) no longer using. I’ve only sewn a handful of times to date, but I’m so very happy with the way this turned out. True story: I’m a little addicted to sewing now.

The best compliment was from my husband who originally thought my idea would lead to our daughter looking like an “orphan annie.” Once the dress was done he couldn’t wait to try it on her and he deemed the whole attempt “very CUTE!” I love when I prove myself. 🙂

About Susie Contreras

My life is writing + motherhood. Lived + loved in Hawaii, Baja, & around California. Thrift shops + ice cream keep me sane. Perpetually in need of caffeine. I blog at susiecontreras.com

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Live. Laugh. Aloha.

~ Mom to a busy toddler
~ Sometimes writer
~ Wanna-be seamstress
~ Red velvet cake connoisseur

Things I write about…

